2016 Program Awards



Hang on for a minute...we're trying to find some more stories you might like.

Email This Story

2016 Scroggins Award Winners

Broadcast – Wave TV, Summerville HS (South Carolina)

Magazine – iliad, Clarke Central HS (Georgia)

Newspaper Odyssey Newsmagazine, Clarke Central HS (Georgia)

Online Media Odyssey Online, Clarke Central HS (Georgia)

YearbookWestwind, West Henderson HS (North Carolina)

2016 Convention onsite competition winners:

Grammar Guru – Valeria Garcia-Pozo, Clarke Central HS

Review Writing

  • First Place – Emily Watson, Clarke Central HS
  • Second Place – Maddie Hall, Clarke Central HS
  • Third Place – Bronlyn Holland, Ola HS

Broadcast anchor competition

  • Best Anchor – Gracyn Ashmore, Oxford HS
  • Honorable Mention – Betsy Bullock, Summerville HS

Broadcast On-the-Spot competition

  • Best storytelling – Ally Patterson and Julian Masters, The Buzz TV, Fort Mill HS
  • Best videography – Jennifer Finnegan and Journey Rucker, The Buzz TV, Fort Mill HS
  • Best overall – Mark Maddaloni and Mairin Noonan, Tribe Talk, Wando HS

Newspaper Team Onsite Production competition

Yearbook Team Onsite Production competition

2016 Best in State Winners

Best in State winners are chosen from publications that receive All-Southern ratings and attend the SIPA convention.


• Alabama –
The Crimson Crier, Sparkman HS
• Georgia – Odyssey, Clarke Central HS
• North Carolina – Nighthawk News, First Flight HS
• South Carolina – Tribal Tribune, Wando HS
• Virginia – Newsstreak, Harrisonburg HS

• Florida –Entheos, G. Holmes Braddock Senior HS
• North Carolina –Westwind, West Henderson HS
• South Carolina – Talismann, J.L. Mann HS

2016 Scholarship Winners

Elizabeth B. Dickey SIPA Scholarship – Cole Lowery, Summerville HS (South Carolina)

SIPA Endowment Regional Scholarship – Ashley Soriano, Ola HS (Georgia)

2016 Program Critiques



WAHS News, American Heritage School
The Buzz TVFort Mill HS
Wave TV
Summerville HS
Tribe Talk, Wando HS


The Silver Screen Report, Dutch Fork HS
NAFO News, Nation Ford HS
PG-TVPrince George HS
Richland Northeast HS


The Knightly NewsChantilly HS
PATS-TVHillcrest HS
Trojan News NetworkJames Island Charter HS
NW Horizons NewsNorthwest Guilford
Real TVStratford HS



The Lantern, Albemarle HS
Iliad, Clarke Central HS
Euantes, George Washington HS
Earthwinds, Jackson Preparatory School
Voices, Nation Ford HS


Revelations, Dutch Fork HS
Connotations, Fayetteville HS


imprint, Harrisonburg HS
HarmoniousLee, Lee HS
Forte, Liberty HS
Calliope, South Aiken HS



The Jagwire, Carrboro HS
Odyssey, Clarke Central HS
Carpe Diem, Decatur HS
The Renaissance, Dutch Fork HS
Nighthawk, First Flight HS
Newsstreak, Harrisonburg HS
The Southerner, Henry W. Grady HS
The Bear Facts, Lake Braddock Secondary School
The Highlander, McLean HS
The Grizzly Gazette, Mountain View HS
Northwest Horizons, Northwest Guilford HS
Yellow Jacket, Osbourn Park HS
The Royal News, Prince George HS
The Cavalier, Richland Northeast HS
The Crimson Crier, Sparkman HS
Tribal Tribune, Wando HS
Wingspan, West Henderson


The Prowler, Carolina Forest HS
The Hoofbeat, Charles D. Owen HS
Knight Time Review,
Charlottesville HS
The Purple Tide, Chantilly HS
The Shield, McCallum HS
The Talon, Nation Ford High School
The Northridge Reporter, Northridge HS
The Charger, Oxford HS
The Lancer, South Lake HS


CvHS Scribe news, Cleveland HS
Patriot Press, Liberty HS



OdysseyClarke Central HS
The Lambert Post, Lambert HS
Crimson Crier News, Sparkman HS
Wingspan onlineWest Henderson HS


Bison Beat Online, Buffalo HS
, Harrisonburg HS
The Raider WireNorth Forsyth HS
TRNwiredPrince George HS
The Lancer, South Lake HS
The ProwlerStarr’s Mill HS


Panther PrintsDuncanville HS
The SouthernerHenry W. Grady HS
NorthwestHorizons, Northwest Guilford HS
The Wave Breaker, Summerville HS
Tribal Tribune onlineWando HS



Patriot, Arendell Parrott
Minotaur, Bloomingdale HS
Beacon, Calvary Day School
Odyssey, Chantilly HS
Cavaleon, Coral Gables Senior HS
Tiger, Dawson County HS
The Legacy, Dutch Fork HS
Entheos, G. Holmes Braddock HS
Talismann, J.L. Mann HS
The Commodore, Lafayette HS
Kaleidoscope, Lugoff-Elgin HS
Marauder, Maclay HS
Aerie, Marjory Stoneman Douglas HS
The Phoenix, Martin HS
Accipter, Mill Creek HS
Teleios, Mount Paran Christian Academy
Summit, Mountain View High
Carpe Diem, North Forsyth HS
The Archive, Richland Northeast HS
The Senator, Sparkman HS
The Belltower, St. Thomas’ Episcopal School
Indian Legend, Stafford HS
The Pride, Starr’s Mill HS
Westwind, West Henderson HS
Arcadia, West Shore Jr./Sr. HS


Amethyst, Amherst County High School
The Growler, Archdale-Trinity Middle School
The Bison, Buffalo High School
Buford HS
Hurricane Watch,
Cane Creek MS
The Pride, Countryside HS
Warrior, East Bay HS
Aurea Aquila, Eastside HS
Talon, Liberty HS
Reflections, Mauldin HS
The Pitchfork, Mooresville HS
Olympian, Nova HS
Peerage, Prince George HS
Bruin, Pulaski Academy
Black and Gold, R.J. Reynolds HS
Ursa Major, South Florence HS
St. Clairion, St. Clair County High School
Swansean, Swansea HS
Legend, Wando HS
Chieftain, White County HS
The SAGA, Woodstock HS
Stinger, Wynne High School


Chrysalis, Dunwoody HS
North Compass, Evansville HS
The CHIEF, Jourdanton HS
Sandfiddler, Manteo HS
MIAHI, Miami Senior High
The Ford, Nation Ford HS
The Legacy, Tupelo Christian Preparatory School
Precedent, Wellington HS

Print Friendly, PDF & Email