2018 SIPA Program Awards


2018 Scroggins Award

Broadcast – “The Buzz TV,” Fort Mill HS (South Carolina)

Literary Magazine – iliad, Clarke Central HS (Georgia)

Newsprint – Odyssey, Clarke Central HS (Georgia)

Online – TRNwired, Prince George HS (Virginia)

Yearbook – Westwind, West Henderson HS (North Carolina)

2018 Convention on-site competition winners:

You can find all our TOP competition packages online

Grammar Guru – Eve Gershon, Oxford HS, and Maggie Nguyen, Lee County HS

Quiz Bowl Champions – Aneesa Conine-Nakano, Alexander Robinson, Delia Adamson, and Katie Grace Upchurch, Clarke Central HS (Georgia)

Talent show winner – Rapper’s delight from Wando HS

Review Writing

  • 1st Place – Natalia Rodriguez, Coral Gables Senior HS (Florida)
  • 2nd Place – Isabella Gonzalez, Clarke Central HS (Georgia)

Broadcast anchor competition

  • Best Anchor –Henry Horlbeck, Richland Northeast HS
  • Honorable Mention – Troy Dassing, Wando HS, and Alex Bavosa, Wando HS

Broadcast Team On-site Production competition

Literary Magazine Team On-site Production competition

  • Best Visual Element – Neely Mullen, Anna Renfroe and Emily Bone, Evoke, Oxford HS (Mississippi)
  • Best Written Element – Ellie Pobis, Psyche, Richland Northeast HS (South Carolina)

  • Best Overall – Gracie Boyce, Ellie Pobis and Caroline Williamson, Psyche, Richland Northeast HS (South Carolina)

Newspaper Team On-site Production competition

  • Best Design – Audrey Weigel, Thomas Morcillo, Dylan Carol and Alejandra Orozco, highlights, Coral Gables Senior HS (Florida)

  • Best Story and Overall – Valeria Garcia-Pozo, Jordan Rhym, Katie Grace Upchurch and Sam Mattern-Parks, Odyssey, Clarke Central HS (Georgia)

Photography Team On-site Production competition

Photo TOP Best Single Image by Eva Chillura, Wando HS (South Carolina)

Yearbook Team On-site Production competition

  • Best Design – Caitlyn Davis, Michaela McCarthy, Riley McPheeters and Alexis Bjorkland, The Liberator, Pace HS (Florida)

  • Best Copy and Overall – Mollie Ping, Merritt Redden, Olivia Wander and Livi Lesch, Legend, Wando HS (South Carolina)            

Scroggins special distinction publications:

These publications received an All-Southern rating and represent the best candidate from each member state attending the convention.


  • Alabama – The Crimson Crier,  Sparkman HS
  • Georgia – Odyssey, Clarke Central HS
  • Mississippi – The Charger, Oxford HS
  • North Carolina – Nighthawk News, First Flight HS
  • South Carolina – Tribal Tribune, Wando HS


  • Alabama – The Senator, Sparkman HS
  • Florida – Eques, Miami Sunset Senior HS
  • North Carolina – Westwind, West Henderson HS
  • South Carolina – Legend, Wando HS

2018 Scholarship recipients:

Daughtry Continuing Education scholarship – Claire Lewis and John Romanski, USC School of Journalism and Mass Communications

SIPA Endowment Regional scholarship – Sydney Register, “Tribe Talk,” Wando HS (Mt. Pleasant, South Carolina)

2018 SIPA award recipients:

Dr. Kay Phillips Administrator of the Year – Dr. Sabrina Suber, Richland Northeast HS (Columbia, South Carolina)

Elizabeth B. Dickey Distinguished Service Awards

  • Phillip Caston, Wando HS yearbook adviser
  • R.J. Morgan, Mississippi Scholastic Press Association director

2018 Program Critiques





  • TNN,” James Island Charter HS
  • PG-TV,” Prince George HS



  • The Lantern, Albemarle HS
  • iliad, Clarke Central HS
  •  Portraits in Ink, Durham School of the Arts
  • Euantes, George Washington HS
  • Earthwinds, Jackson Preparatory
  • Voices, Nation Ford HS
  • The Outlet, Wando HS


  • Mindprints, Jackson Preparatory
  • Threshold, North Forsyth HS
  • Psyche, Richland Northeast HS
  • Silhouette, Sparkman HS
  • Inkblots, The John Cooper


  • Perspectives, American Heritage
  • Spectrum, Arendell Parrott
  • Revelations, Dutch Fork HS
  • Towodi: Geared In, Mill Creek HS
  • Calliope, South Aiken HS
  • Mirage, Stafford HS


  • Forte, Liberty HS



  • Odyssey, Clarke Central HS
  • Nighthawk News, First Flight HS
  • Pep O’Plant, H.B. Plant HS
  • Newsstreak, Harrisonburg HS
  • The Southerner, Henry W. Grady HS
  • The Dispatch, James Bowie HS
  • The Shield, McCallum HS
  • Northwest Horizons, Northwest Guilford HS
  • The Charger, Oxford HS
  • The Cavalier, Richland Northeast HS
  • The Crimson Crier, Sparkman HS
  • Tribal Tribune, Wando HS
  • Wingspan, West Henderson HS


  • Nexus Magazine, Henry W. Grady HS
  • The Talon, Nation Ford HS
  • Hoof Print, Ola HS


  • Patriot Press, Liberty HS
  • The Pitchfork, Lugoff-Elgin HS






  • Beacon, Calvary Day School
  • Hurricane Watch, Cane Creek MS
  • Odyssey, Chantilly HS
  • Entheos, G. Holmes Braddock HS
  • Kaleidoscope, Lugoff-Elgin HS
  • Aerie, Marjory Stoneman Douglas HS
  • Reflections, Mauldin HS
  • The Knight, McCallum HS
  • Eques, Miami Sunset Senior HS
  • Freebird, South Lakes HS
  • Senator, Sparkman HS
  • The Belltower, St. Thomas’ Episcopal
  • Swansean, Swansea HS
  • Legend, Wando HS
  • Westwind, West Henderson HS


  • Stampede, American Heritage School
  • Amethyst, Amherst County HS
  • Patriot, Arendell Parrott HS
  • The Bison, Buffalo HS
  • The Chronicle, Christ Covenant School
  • Cavaleon, Coral Gables HS
  • The Pride, Countryside HS
  • Tiger, Dawson County HS
  • Aurea Aquila, Eastside HS
  • Shorelines, First Flight HS
  • The Chief, Indian Land HS
  • Trojan, Lee County HS
  • Talon, Liberty HS
  • Accipter, Mill Creek HS
  • Koinonia, Prince Avenue HS
  • The Archive, Richland Northeast HS
  • The Pride, Starr’s Mill HS
  • The Centaur, Strawberry Crest HS
  • Arcadia, West Shore Jr/Sr HS


  • Tiburon, Alonzo & Tracy Mourning Senior HS
  • The Growler, Archdale-Trinity MS
  • Tiger Tales, Crescent HS
  • The Warrior, d’Iberville HS
  • Sandfiddler, Manteo HS
  • The Pitchfork, Mooresville HS
  • Aries, Northeast Guilford HS
  • The Ragnarok, Northwest Guilford HS
  • Precedent, Wellington HS
  • The Guardian, Westfield HS
  • Chieftain, White County HS
  • The Saga, Woodstock HS