2019 SIPA Program Awards


2019 Scroggins Award

Broadcast – “RNE-TV,” Richland Northeast HS

Literary Magazine – Psyche, Richland Northeast HS

Newsprint – Tribal Tribune, Wando HS

Online – ODYSSEY Media Group, Clarke Central HS

Yearbook – The Archive, Richland Northeast HS

2019 Convention on-site competition winners:

Grammar Guru – Sophia Bernstein, Wando HS

Quiz Bowl Champions – Sachio Goodie, Jacob Castile, Daveon Montgomery and Tristan Lankford, Cedar Shoals HS (Georgia)

Talent show winner – Salomé Storck and Elli Grace Goodwin performing ASMR (Wando HS)

Review Writing

  • 1st Place – Coles Ehlers, Clarke Central HS
  • 2nd Place – Ireland McCage, Clarke Central HS

Broadcast anchor competition

  • Best Anchor – Salomé Storck, Wando HS
  • Honorable Mention – Ellison Goodwin, Wando HS

Broadcast Team On-site Production competition

Literary Magazine Team On-site Production competition

Newspaper Team On-site Production competition

Photography Team On-site Production competition

Yearbook Team On-site Production competition

Scroggins special distinction publications:

These publications received an All-Southern rating and represent the best candidate from each member state attending the convention.


  • Georgia – ODYSSEY newsmagazine, Clarke Central HS
  • North Carolina – Northwest Horizons, Northwest Guilford HS
  • South Carolina – Tribal Tribune, Wando HS


  • Florida – Entheos, G. Holmes Braddock Senior HS
  • North Carolina – Westwind, West Henderson HS
  • South Carolina – The Archive, Richland Northeast HS

2019 Scholarship recipients:

Elizabeth B. Dickey SIPA scholarship – Kailey Cota, Nation Ford HS (South Carolina)

Mary Y. Inglis Endowment Regional scholarship – Bronlyn Holland, Ola HS (Georgia)

2019 SIPA award recipients:

Dr. Kay Phillips Administrator of the Year – Dr. Robert Brooks, G. Holmes Braddock Senior HS (Miami, Florida)

Joseph Shoquist Freedom of the Press Award – Neha Madhira, Haley Stack and Lori Oglesbee-Petter

Elizabeth B. Dickey Distinguished Service Awards

  • Erin Coggins, Sparkman HS newsprint, online and yearbook adviser
  • Justin Fabiano, Stratford HS broadcast adviser

2019 Program Critiques







  • iliad, Clarke Central HS
  • Euantes, George Washington HS
  • Earthwinds, Jackson Preparatory School
  • Inkblot, The John Cooper School
  • Threshold, North Forsyth HS
  • Psyche, Richland Northeast HS


  • The Lantern, Albemarle HS
  • Expressions, American Heritage School
  • Spectrum, Arendell Parrott Academy
  • Catharsis, Coral Gables Senior HS
  • Mindprints, Jackson Preparatory Junior HS
  • Voices, Nation Ford HS


  • Revelations, Dutch Fork HS
  • Towodi, Mill Creek HS
  • Evoke, Oxford HS
  • Calliope, South Aiken HS
  • Open Doors, Tupelo Christian Prep School
  • The Mind’s Eye, UMS-Wright Preparatory School


  • Forte, Liberty HS
  • Portfolio, South Lakes HS



  • BluePrints, Cedar Shoals HS
  • Odyssey, Clarke Central HS
  • Nighthawk News, First Flight HS
  • Pep O’Plant, H.B. Plant HS
  • Newsstreak, Harrisonburg HS
  • The Southerner, Henry W. Grady HS
  • The Dispatch, James Bowie HS
  • The Shield, McCallum HS
  • Northwest Horizons, Northwest Guilford HS
  • Tribal Tribune, Wando HS


  • Nexus Magazine, Henry W. Grady HS
  • The Talon, Nation Ford HS
  • The Charger, Oxford HS
  • The Crimson Crier, Sparkman HS
  • Wingspan, West Henderson HS


  • Livewire, Bullitt East HS
  • The Cavalier, Richland Northeast HS
  • The Smoke Signal, Stafford HS







  • Spotlight, American Heritage School
  • Amethyst, Amherst County HS
  • Patriot, Arendell Parrott Academy
  • Beacon, Calvary Day School
  • The Sceptre, Cambridge Christian School
  • Odyssey, Chantilly HS
  • Cavaleon, Coral Gables Senior HS
  • Tiger, Dawson County HS
  • Entheos, G. Holmes Braddock Senior HS
  • Marauder, Maclay School
  • Aerie, Marjory Stoneman Douglas HS
  • Reflections, Mauldin HS
  • The Knight, McCallum HS
  • The Archive, Richland Northeast HS
  • Senator, Sparkman HS
  • The Belltower, St. Thomas’ Episcopal School
  • The Indian Legend, Stafford HS
  • Westwind, West Henderson HS


  • Stampede, American Heritage School
  • The Growler, Archdale-Trinity MS
  • The Bison, Buffalo HS
  • Shorelines, First Flight HS
  • Tigrium, Holy Trinity Episcopal Academy
  • Trojan, Lee County HS
  • The Confederate, Lee-Davis HS
  • Kaleidoscope, Lugoff-Elgin HS
  • Sandfiddler, Manteo HS
  • Mako Fuka, MAST Academy
  • Eques, Miami Sunset Senior HS
  • The Rosette, Midlothian Heritage HS
  • Trojan, Midlothian HS
  • The Accipter, Mill Creek HS
  • Summit, Mountain View HS
  • Panorama, North Cobb HS
  • Peerage, Prince George HS
  • Freebird, South Lakes HS
  • Legend, Wando HS
  • The Saga, Woodstock HS
  • Tiger’s Roar, WR Thomas MS


  • Tiburon, Alonzo and Tracy Mourning Senior HS
  • Tiger Tales, Crescent HS
  • Crotalus, Felix Varela Senior HS
  • Eagles’ Nest, Herbert A. Ammons MS
  • Talon, Liberty HS
  • This is what we’re MADE OF, Maggie L. Walker Governor’s School
  • Ragnarok, Northwest Guilford HS
  • Flashback, Oxford HS
  • The Voice, Patrick Henry HS
  • St. Clairion, St. Clair County HS
  • The Legacy, Tupelo Christian Prep School


  • Southernaire, South Dade HS